News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Lacombe’s new City Council sworn in; ready to get down to business

AB - Creasey sworn in 01

Above: Mayor-elect Grant Greasey (right) being sworn in by Lacombe Police Chief Lorne Blumhagen at City Hall. (Photo credit: Ashli Barrett)

Lacombe, Alberta (October 24, 2017) –  At their inaugural meeting yesterday, Mayor Grant Creasey and Councillors Don Gullekson, Thalia Hibbs,  Cora Hoekstra, Jonathan Jacobson, Reuben Konnik and Chris Ross were sworn in for the 2017-21 term.

The swearing-in ceremony involved the newly-elected officials swearing an Oath of Office administered by Lacombe Police Chief Lorne Blumhagen.

 “I am pleased to be elected as part of a Council that respects the ideals and principles of good governance,” said Mayor Grant Creasey.  “I look forward to working closely with the members of my Council team and City administration to build on the successes of the previous Council, and start improving our community through increased transparency, effective public engagement, and fiscally prudent decision-making.”

Council made a variety of appointments, including the deputy mayor roster, designated signing officers, and the appointment of Council members to municipal boards, committees and commissions (see attached).

Council also voted to defer the discussion of Chief Administrative Officer recruitment to the November 14, 2017, regular meeting, subsequent to receiving presentations from recruiting agencies on or before November 6.

The new Council will be busy over the next few weeks getting familiar with the municipal government environment and settling into their new roles.  Upcoming commitments include:

  • November 1: City Facilities Tour
  • November 6-8: Recruiting agency presentations, Council Budget Workshop
  • November 9-10: Council training workshop in Blackfalds
  • November 22-24 AUMA Annual Convention in Calgary

Return to full list >>